Astros win their first World Series over Dodgers

In 56th season, the Houston Astros are finally champions after closing out the Los Angeles Dodgers with a 5-1 win in Game 7 of what was a thrilling World Series from start to finish.

Houston threw scoring two runs in the first inning off Dodgers’ starter Yu Darvish, then chasing him in the second after scoring three more runs, including a two-run homer by center fielder George Springer. 

It was Springer’s fifth home run of the Fall Classic, tying a World Series record shared by Reggie Jackson of the 1977 New York Yankees and Chase Utley of the 2009 Philadelphia Phillies.

He also set a World Series record with 29 total bases. That performance earned him the World Series MVP award. 

Video Source: Highlight Heaven/Youtube

The Astros’ victory came after an epic World Series that went the full seven games. Two games were pitching duels that ended in 3-1 scores, while two went into extra innings, including a 13-12 Game 5 slugfest on Sunday night. 

From sources,  the game had just one home run was almost an upset in a Series that included a record-setting 25 home runs, which shattered the previous mark of 22 set by the Anaheim Angels and the San Francisco Giants in 2002.

Jeff Luhnow, the team’s general manager who endured a great deal of criticism when the Astros were, maybe intentionally, the worst team in baseball for multiple years, took pride in Houston having stuck to their plans even when times were tough.

“We did it,” he said in the post-game celebration on the field. “We knew we had a plan that could get us here and we got it. A world championship!”

For all the performances in the previous six episodes, the winner-take-all Game 7 was relatively quiet after Houston exploded for five runs in the first two innings against starter Yu Darvish and then simply held on to win.

The Astros finally winning a championship, there are seven teams left that have yet to win a World Series: The Tampa Bay Rays, the Seattle Mariners, the Texas Rangers, the Washington Nationals, the Milwaukee Brewers, the San Diego Padres and the Colorado Rockies.

Image Source: Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

by Israt Yasmin, The Blogging Connection

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.